Barron Miles

Class of 2018

Barron Miles was a standout defensive back out of the University of Nebraska, where he captured a 1994 NCAA national championship before joining the Montreal Alouettes in 1998 and enjoying a stellar 12-year CFL career.

Miles was recognized as a league All-Star six times at two different positions and won Grey Cups with both the Alouettes (2002) and BC Lions (2006).

The native of Roselle, N.J. spent seven seasons in Montreal, earning four East All-Star nods (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003) and three CFL All-Star honours (1999, 2000 and 2002).

After joining the Lions as a free agent in 2005, he was again named a league All-Star at defensive back during the Lions’ championship season in 2006, when he led the league with 10 interceptions, and earned two more CFL All-Star nods as a safety in 2008 and 2009, the final two seasons of his pro career. He was an eight-time CFLPA All-Star (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009).

In total, Miles played 189 regular season games and 13 more in the playoffs, winning two Grey Cups (2002, 2006) and participating in two others with the Alouettes (2000, 2003).

He retired with 66 career interceptions, tied for second-most in league history, and is the CFL’s all-time leader with 13 blocked kicks, holding the all-time franchise marks for both the Alouettes (seven) and Lions (six). His 980 interception return yards is sixth-best in CFL history.

He received the Frank M. Gibson Trophy as Outstanding Rookie in the East in 1998 and the James P. McCaffrey Trophy as Outstanding Defensive Player in the East in 2002.

In 2004, the CFL Players Association honoured Miles with the Tom Pate Memorial Award for Outstanding Community Service.

Since retiring as a player, Miles has held coaching stints with the Lions, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers and Edmonton Eskimos, earning two more Grey Cup rings as a coach.


Montreal Alouettes
1998 - 2004
BC Lions
2005 - 2009


  • CFL Eastern All-Star
    1999 - 2003
  • CFL Western All-Star
  • CFL All-Star
    1999,2000, 2002 2006,2008,2009
  • Grey Cup Game Participation
  • Grey Cup Winning Teams
  • Tom Pate Trophy Winner